Concerto Grosso

String Quartet Biennale Amsterdam

This concert of the String Quartet Biennale Amsterdam features striking works that are rarely performed. String orchestra, string quartet and clarinet coalesce to create a unique soundscape. 

Two string quartets and a string orchestra join forces for a programme of rarely heard works, with a Dutch première to top it all off. The multitalented Spaniard Francisco Coll is a rising star who recently composed a violin concerto for Patricia Kopatchinskaja. Here he conducts his own Concerto Grosso ‘Invisible Zones’, a work that was premièred with Cuarteto Casals.

In Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Kammerkonzert, string orchestra, string quartet and clarinet coalesce to create an extraordinary soundscape, inspired by Hungarian folk music. Béla Bartók embraces gypsy music in his Rhapsody, which features a virtuosic role for solo violin.

Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Cuarteto Casals, Quatuor Danel and the clarinettist Olivier Patey team up for this consummate festival programme under the auspices of the String Quartet Biennale Amsterdam.


  • Kurtag 12 Mikroludien
  • Coll Concerto Grosso ‘Invisible Zones’ (Dutch première)
  • Haas Third movement from String Quartet no. 2 (version for string orchestra)
  • Hartmann Kammerkonzert for clarinet, string quartet and strings
  • Bartók Rhapsody no. 1 for violin, clarinet en string orchestra


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Candida Thompson director & lead violin
  • Francisco Coll conductor
  • Olivier Patey clarinet
  • Cuarteto Casals
  • Quatuor Danel


Check out this programme too


Le baiser de la fée

Tribute to Tchaikovsky

up to and including

Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.