Bach & Britain

with Beatrice Rana

tot en met

The Italian pianist Beatrice Rana made her debut with Amsterdam Sinfonietta in 2019. Their collaboration was nominated for De Ovatie, the Dutch annual prize for the most impressive stage performance of the year. Rana returns to perform Bach keyboard concertos with the string orchestra.

The prominent British composer Thomas Adès has been commissioned to write a new work for Amsterdam Sinfonietta. Shanty – Over the Sea, is about a group of hardworking sailors, who long for freedom and a safe harbour. From another great British composer William Walton, we hear the dramatic and virtuosic Sonata for Strings, his own arrangement of his String Quartet in A minor.

The internationally celebrated Italian pianist Beatrice Rana follows up her successful debut with the orchestra, once again performing concertos by Father Bach, this time embedded in English music of the 20th and 21st century. Bach’s son Carl Philipp Emanuel responded to his patron’s exhortation to let himself go entirely, resulting in a wild and tempestuous Sturm und Drang symphony.

Shanty – Over the Sea was commissioned by Amsterdam Sinfonietta with support from the Eduard van Beinum Stichting.

This content is only available if the marketing cookies have been accepted.


  • C.P.E. Bach Symphony in E
  • Adès Shanty – Over the Sea (Dutch première)
  • Bach Two keyboard concertos
  • Walton Sonata for strings


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Candida Thompson artistic director & violin
  • Beatrice Rana piano

Variations in the programme:

At the Concertgebouw, instead of Shanty by Adès, we will play Frank Bridge’s Lament.

“Her intelligent playing, as well as the inspired interplay with the ensemble, impressed.”

Concert dates

Check out this programme too


Le baiser de la fée

Tribute to Tchaikovsky

tot en met

Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.