Lucie in the Sky with Diamonds Online

with Lucie Horsch

Amsterdam Sinfonietta and the prize-winning recorder player Lucie Horsch take their audience on a hallucinatory trip through time, travelling from Italy, via England to Hungary. The programme features works by composers who transform diverse musical styles into their own musical idiom.

Watch the preview

The Italian composer Nino Rota used folk-like melodies in his Concerto for strings, the Hungarian Sandor Veress gave a refreshing twist to virtuosic Transylvanian dances, while the baroque composer Telemann incorporated the ‘barbaric beauty’ of Polish and Moravian music in his trio sonata. Become acquainted with the spectacular Uhrovska collection dating from 1730, a treasury of 350 East-European folk melodies. True to oral tradition, Amsterdam Sinfonietta creates its own arrangements, allowing space for improvisation and exploiting the virtuosic power and expressive melancholy of this music.

Tickets for the stream are free. A donation is appreciated.

This content is only available if the marketing cookies have been accepted.

Short preview of Lucie in the Sky with Diamonds Online

“One hoped that Lucie Horsch would never stop”

– Trouw *****


  • Rota Preludio and Scherzo from Concerto per Archi
  • Movio Incanto XIX
  • Vivaldi Largo from concert for recorder and strings, RV 443
  • Rota Scherzo from Concerto per Archi
  • Locke Curtain Tune from The Tempest
  • Byrd Sellenger's Round
  • Tippet Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Waley-Cohen Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Walton Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Dowland/van Eyck Flow my Tears
  • Veress Lassu and Dobbantós from Transsylvanian Dances
  • van Veldhuizen New work
  • Bartók Movement 6, 7, and 8 from Romanian Dances
  • Telemann Triosonate in d TWV 42:d10
  • Traditionals from Collection Uhrovska


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Daniel Bard direction & violin
  • Lucie Horsch recorder

Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.