Trout Quintet

Amsterdam Sinfonietta in chamber music formation

tot en met

The leaders of Amsterdam Sinfonietta present two highly contrasting works. Brahms’s piano quartet overflows with passion and suffering, while Schubert’s Trout Quintet is strikingly cheerful and exuberant.

These two Romantic chamber music works couldn’t be more contrasting in nature. Brahms’s piano quartet brims with passion and the pain of unrequited love. The composer actually wanted to publish the work with an illustration referring to Goethe’s book “The Suffering of the Young Werther”, in which the protagonist commits suicide, tormented by his love for a friend’s wife. On the other hand, Schubert’s Trout Quintet is 40 minutes of boundless joy, with not a cloud to darken the sky. The work abounds with superb melodies, it is pure lyrical exuberance. Each instrument is given a sparkling role, even the double bass has the chance to shine. 


  • Brahms Piano Quartet no. 3, op. 60
  • Schubert Trout Quintet, D. 667


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Candida Thompson violin
  • Georgy Kovalev viola
  • Tim Posner cello
  • Ying Lai Green double bass
  • Alexander Gavrylyuk piano


Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.