Phoenix Online

met Lucas en Arthur Jussen

In the fiery program Phoenix, Amsterdam Sinfonietta and the piano brothers Lucas and Arthur Jussen are reunited for the fifth time. Including the new piece Anka Kuşu by the Turkish composer Fazil Say and the adagio from Mahler’s unfinished Tenth Symphony. A perfect concert for the winter months. Tickets are free.

Watch the preview

Especially for Lucas and Arthur Jussen, and jointly commissioned by Amsterdam Sinfonietta, the Turkish composer and pianist Fazıl Say composed Anka Kuşu (Phoenix), based on the Simurgh, the Persian mythical bird that displays similarities with the fabulous Western creature, the Phoenix. The virtuosic piano concerto is imbued with oriental rhythms. The concert opens with These words… by Arvo Pärt. This prayer is intended to turn people away from committing crime and persuade them not to give in to human weaknesses. Amsterdam Sinfonietta concludes the programme with the imposing Adagio from Gustav Mahler’s Tenth Symphony in a new version for string orchestra by Primo Ish-Hurwitz. Mahler’s final, incomplete work is a song of pain and despair about the infidelity of his young wife Alma.

Tickets for this concert are free. A donation would be highly appreciated.

This content is only available if the marketing cookies have been accepted.

Phoenix with Lucas and Arthur Jussen

“The chemistry between the Jussen brothers and Amsterdam Sinfonietta clearly is good.”

NRC – 4 stars


  • Pärt These words…
  • Say Anka Kuşu, for chamber orchestra and piano four hands (Dutch première)

  • Schubert Allegro “Lebensstürme”, D947 for piano four hands
  • Mahler Adagio from Symphony no. 10 (version for string orchestra by P. Ish-Hurwitz)


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Candida Thompson director & violin
  • Lucas en Arthur Jussen piano

Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.