Lucie in the Sky with Diamonds

Musical voyage from Italy via England to Hungary

tot en met

Amsterdam Sinfonietta and the prize-winning recorder player Lucie Horsch take their audience on a hallucinatory trip through time, travelling from Italy, via England to Hungary. The programme features works by composers who transform diverse musical styles into their own musical idiom.

The Italian composer Nino Rota used folk-like melodies in his Concerto for strings, the Hungarian Sandor Veress gave a refreshing twist to virtuosic Transylvanian dances, while the baroque composer Telemann incorporated the ‘barbaric beauty’ of Polish and Moravian music in his trio sonata. Become acquainted with the spectacular Uhrovska collection dating from 1730, a treasury of 350 East-European folk melodies. True to oral tradition, Amsterdam Sinfonietta creates its own arrangements, allowing space for improvisation and exploiting the virtuosic power and expressive melancholy of this music.


  • Rota Prelude from Concerto per Archi
  • Movio Incanto XIX
  • Vivaldi Largo from recorder concerto RV 443
  • Locke Curtain Tune
  • Byrd Sellenger's Round
  • Tippet Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Waley-Cohen Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Walton Variation on Sellenger's Round
  • Tallis Spem in Alium
  • Veress Movements from Transsylvanian Dances
  • van Veldhuizen New work
  • Bartók Folksongs from Csík
  • Telemann Triosonata in D
  • Traditionals from the Uhrovska collection


  • Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Daniel Bard director & violin
  • Lucie Horsch recorder

“Nothing hindered her in her flight”

– de Volkskrant


Check out this programme too


The last Mendelssohn

with Kian Soltani

tot en met

Sign up for the newsletter

Catch up with the latest news.